upcycled utility – burst lighting

RATIONALE

This was quite an interesting assignment as we were asked to explore the many ways that you could form a light using a JCdecaux sheet. I took my inspiration from looking at a cube, how you could invert corners and how to make them look extroverted without really being pushed out. My light is entirely cut out and this makes it really simple for consumers as they can just pop it out. Many of the edges are scored and are therefore supposed to be folded neatly along the lines.

At first I had wanted to express the rigidity of the material but now, looking at it, I want to express the contrast between the sharp edges and the flexibility of the curved surfaces it can create. This is show through the cube like structure, but, as I took out one side of the cube and joined it together, a teardrop shaped has somewhat formed.

Another point about my inspiration is that I wanted my light to look as if it was exploding with light. I’ve expressed this by folding out the middle flaps from each side of the frame and have found that by putting folds into it, it creates a way to direct the light. At first I found that there was too much space and so decided to add a cone in the middle to push the top edges out and also to direct the light even further. Now my light looks as if it is bursting with sunlight. I’d like to think it resembles that of a small sun.

This light is designed to be hung and I think that I have expressed this material well through the use of my contrast of straight and curved. It’s quite amazing that I managed to make something so 3D out of just a sheet of polypropylene. Thank you for taking the time to look at it.

PRODUCT POSTER

CAD drawing of the cutting diagram

INSTRUCTION SHEET

And here is an image of the box that I made out of cardboard

8 thoughts on “upcycled utility – burst lighting

  1. This light is very interesting as it displays how the light comes out of the lamp. As the name suggests there really is a “burst” of light that shows through. For your light however, i think that you should have had the colored part facing inwards, to both show some purity of the product, as well as create a different type of light that emits out of your lamp.

  2. The design of this lamp is quite elegant and unique due to the clever cutting and folding as this highlights the inner structure of the lamp when it the bulb is lit. Interestingly enough, it is also quite sustainable due to only 13% waste of discarded poster. To further improve your design, you should add more cuts or slots for the light to come out your design as this will add another feature to your design. Overall, this is a well presented and structured lamp. Great Job!

  3. I love how you have explored the properties of the material, this has been reflected in the design of your light. You could experiment with allowing a bit more light to be emitted from the top of your light, so that all sides light up.

  4. I think the name of this lamp is perfectly fit with your design. I like the shape of the lamp and also the colour. The explanation of light through this lamp is quite nice i guess. However, i think it could be better if you match top and bottom, because bottom is very smoothly shpaed but top is very solid. But still this is really good:D

  5. Your light design is very beautiful and has an abstract sense to it. I like the colour being on the outside, it creates a warm and inviting feeling. Judging from the picture, I’m not sure how much light your design emits, maybe for improvement work on trying to get more like to come through. Your design could look even better as a lamp, more light would shine through the top.

  6. This is so amasing Christina, it’s so intricate and detailed and the red really makes it pop, the geometry and sharpness really bring it together, it looks like you put heaps of effort in, the really reflects, it looks like a burst fruit, Mayby it would of been cool to make the bursting more emphaised and a little less straight crisp lines

  7. I really light how the light encompasses a softness with sharpness. The curves that the light makes compared to the cut out makes it interesting to look at. i think if the light had slits in the body of the light it could let more light come out and enhance the sharpness of the light

  8. Christina, I really like how this bang lamp design shows the flex in the paper its curve bottom, something that is created by this papers hang. The way that you enable the light globe to be changed from the bottom is very creative because it looks like it is still part of the designed explosion, by making the opening to it with a star shape, where it hangs down. If I had to suggest an improvement it would be to avoid using wire/clips to support the lamp. Less is more eco friendly. Really like the look. Probably could have been larger.

Leave a comment